When an iCloud backup is restored to the same device, all supervision and profiles come from the backup regardless of how it was configured in the Device Enrollment Program. For this reason, when restoring backups each user should transition to a new or different device to ensure Device Enrollment Program supervision and MDM enrollment are enforced.
- If you configure a device to be supervised and enrolled in MDM using the Device Enrollment Program, then restore a backup made when the same device was unsupervised, the device will be unsupervised.
- If you restore a backup made when the same device was supervised by Apple Configurator and enrolled in MDM, the device will remain supervised and enrolled, but the MDM profile will be removable, because Apple Configurator cannot lock MDM enrollment.
- If you restore the backup to a different device that is configured for supervision and MDM enrollment via the Device Enrollment Program, the device will remain supervised and MDM enrollment will not be removable.
For further information, please review the following article: https://support.apple.com/en-gb/HT202977